Week 5- Using Pinterest

Hello readers,

This week students were asked to create a Pinterest account, by first watching a YouTube video on how to use this website, then creating a board that illustrates the digital information educators come across. Pinterest is an online community that consists of ideas for a large variety of projects and hobbies. These ideas are picked by other Pinterest users and displayed for their viewers. My initial thoughts on Pinterest were that the site was only useful for users with hobbies. The Pinterest board I created aims to reflect all the different types of digital information we encounter. After the Pinterest board is completed, students are then required to post their Pinterest board URL on the discussion board for another student to mark using a specific rubric available to students.

I started my Pinterest board ‘Digital Teaching Resources’ by searching for different things in the Pinterest site. Firstly I tried the word ‘digital’, but I only received images and ideas on the latest and greatest technologies. This was intriguing and fun to view, however I was not achieving the result I wanted for my board. I then began to search using multiple keywords such as ‘technology and classrooms’, which provided the information I was looking for. with this I began pinning the relevant ideas and adding this information to my board in order to form a collection for this week’s task.

Personally I have never utilised Pinterest yet I did not find this task that challenging. I did however find this task time-consuming, since even when my search fields where correct there was still a copious amount of pins to sort through before I could find the relevant pin I desired.

According to blog editor Susan Wells (2012) Pinterest has become extremely popular amongst educators, not only is it an easy to navigate site, but it provides a social network for teachers to collaborate, share ideas and ask questions. Wells (2012) also suggests that Pinterest be utilised in the classroom, and that teachers should do this by using Pinterest to retrieve nifty activities, crafts and assignment ideas to enhance the learning process, student engagement and motivation. As an educator I believe strongly that Pinterest can be used as an appropriate learning tool, as it is closely related to the Computer-supported collaborative learning theory. This complex theory states that learning can also occur via social interaction through the use of online technology or software, and the learning that occurs is composed through the sharing and construction of knowledge with others (Howell, 2012).

Marked Pinterest…

My Pinterest was marked by one student who expressed that I needed to improve on adding more pins about TED TALKS and more pins on how to incorporate technology into teaching. These specific pins provides important and useful information on this digital technology and teaching. I have decided to keep my Pinterest board for future use, as I am sure that it will provide me with useful resources and excellent ideas, not only in relation to teaching and technology incorporation, but also for my own hobbies. Pinterest helps to build and develop not only my knowledge of technology but also improves my digital pedagogy (Howell, 2012). Pinterest will also keep me up to date with the newest technologies and software’s, simultaneously assisting me in the classroom with group assignments and activities.

The URL to my Pinterest http://www.pinterest.com/lyakouts/digital-teaching-resources/

References

Howell, J. (2012). Teaching with ICT :Digital Pedagogies for collaboration and creativity. South Melbourne, Australia: Oxford University Press.

inmanNEWS. (2013). Pinterest logo [image]. Retrieved from http://www.inman.com/next/4-tips-for-driving-traffic-with-pinterest/

inhabitat design will save the world. (2012). Inhabitat On Pinterest [image]. Retrieved from http://inhabitat.com/inhabitat-on-pinterest-follow-us-for-more-eco-goodness-inspiration/

Wells, S. (2012, September 17) How Teachers and Educators Can Use Pinterest as a Resource in and out of the Classroom. [Web Blog post]. Retreived from http://www.stevespanglerscience.com/blog/education-today/how-teachers-and-educators-can-use-pinterest-as-a-resource-in-and-out-of-the-classroom/

Leave a Reply

