Week 4- Infograph and Wordle

 Digital divide 

This week students are asked to create an Infograph and Wordle on the topic digital divide. When I ponder and reflect on the topic, I automatically think of what technology parents/carers can afford to provide to their siblings and what is available at schools to their students. To create the infograph below, I had to ensure I was equipped with all the information on the topic as well as how I could best use the Piktochart infograph tool and the Wordle website. After spending some time fiddling around with the Wordle website, I grew in my understanding of how to use it and customise it to my individual needs. I also had to research how to put a Wordle piece into my Infograph and I did this by watching YouTube videos and reading online forums. When comparing my Infograph to other students on the Blackboard discussion, I noticed some students had forgotten to insert their Wordle into their post and some students failed to create the Infograph as more of a visual piece then a textual piece, however I did see some Infograph’s which were of a high standard. My initial thoughts on Infographs was that they are primarily used for assessments and advertising, however after completing this week’s task and reading through the Blackboard material, my opinions and views on Infographs has changed. I have learnt that Inforgraphs are practical and valuable for educators as they provide a tool to present information in a colourful and visual way in conjunction to being a useful tool for students to use for revision or to create different tasks completely.

The digital divide between what is available at home and what is available at school is a major issue for today’s technologically advanced society. Margaret Rouse (2014) defines digital divide as the gap between demographics that have no access to communication technology or digital information and those that have access to these technologies. According to Jennifer Howell (2012) children today are born into a digital world (they are digital natives), unfortunately its an unequal digital world, where not every child will have access to or be able to afford the same technologies as other students. As educators we can close this gap that has been created, this is achieved by;

  • Incorporating appropriate technologies into everyday lessons.
  • Educating students on specific software’s helps them to engage in their learning journey and motivates them to take action as well as control for their own learning.
  • Involving family members in learning new technologies and software’s.

We will now move onto using Piktochart and Wordle within the classroom. Utilising Piktochart is not only appealing to the eye, but it is easy to demonstrate ideas, concepts and information to students digitally. Educators can also use Piktocharts as group assessment tools in the classroom instead of other presentation software such as Power Point. Piktochart also allows one to express ideas on certain topics without having paragraphs of writing, a good example is shown below (Natalija, 2014).

This weeks task- My Piktochart.

 Digital Divide

 To conclude this weeks blog, I plan to improve my ability in using the Piktochart program. I will do this by viewing videos and researching websites to further enhance my Infographing ability, thus becoming more visually engaging and better structuring my information.

References

Howell, J. (2012). Teaching with ICT Digital Pedagogies for Collaboration and Creativity. South Melbourne, Australia: Oxford University Press

Natalija, S. (2014). Back to school:Teacher Talks about Using Infographs in the classroom. Retrieved from http://piktochart.com/teacher-talks-infographics-in-classroom

Rouse,M. (2014). Definition digital divide. Retrieved from http://whatis.techtarget.com/definition/digital-divide

Leave a Reply

